First time posting/Requests

mtngun
Site Admin

First time posting/Requests

Postby mtngun » Thu Feb 14, 2008 7:41 pm

from the old forum:

Hello,

I've been checking out the website for some time now ; have found it fascinating. I particularly like the concept of 'designing' your own bullet design, plus the choice of mould material; what looks to be very reasonable prices. I have been shooting competitively ; casting bullets since the late 1970s but still don't consider myself knowledgeable in a lot of areas, particularly the design ; technical aspects.

The last eight years I've been shooting primarily International Muzzleloading, mainly bullet guns (Minie ; Slug), but also do some roundball. However, I also dabble in some single shot cartridge rifle reloading (11.5mm Reformado); some older handguns (.32/20 ; .45AR). I also have a very fine old German double-rifle that I occasionally trot out to the range. It is chambered for what appears to be a proprietary cartridge (as I can find no references to it) that I have christened a 12.3x62mmR due to the measurements I took from the chamber castings I made from it. I have a bullet mould that I had made for it some years ago, but believe it might be too heavy although I\'ve had some pretty decent results with it at 50yds (barrel regulating-wise). I have been using mostly paper-patched bullets.
Some things I would like to glean from this forum are:
A better knowledge of how to determine the dimensions for a bullet , particularly for my cartridge rifles, that will take best advantage of the rifle ie throat dimensions, case capacity, etc.
Some feedback from people who may have some knowledge on shooting the 11.5mm Reformado (it's a Spanish rolling block military rifle), or similar cartridges, and/or shooting black powder era double rifles.

I have noticed that the site does not offer hollowbase bullet designs. Are there any plans to make them available in the forseeable future?

Thx

mtngun
Site Admin