PID for casting pots

User avatar
mtngun
Site Admin
Posts: 1637
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 5:45 pm
Location: Where the Salmon joins the Snake

PID for casting pots

Postby mtngun » Thu Jul 16, 2015 8:32 am

Not my idea, but I finally upgraded my casting setup for the digital age. :lol:

A cheap Chinese PID controller and solid state relay are mounted in an old PC power supply box (upper left). I had to fab a mount for the thermocouple, and still need to fab some sort of mount to work with the thrift store kitchen pots that I use on the thrift store hot plate. Otherwise the PID works a treat. 8-)
Image

User avatar
mtngun
Site Admin
Posts: 1637
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 5:45 pm
Location: Where the Salmon joins the Snake

Re: PID for casting pots

Postby mtngun » Thu Jul 16, 2015 4:25 pm

Since no two of my thrift store pots are exactly the same, I needed a thermocouple mount that could be easily adapted to just about any pot. So I welded a 1/4" pipe nipple onto a 1" C-clamp. It seems to work OK, and can be easily moved from one pot to another. It would probably work on Lee pots, too.
Image


Return to “equipment”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron